跳转到主要内容

远瞻

3大新兴消费趋势值得关注

冠状病毒疫情正在改变世界。人们因为无法享受原本习以为常的生活方式,不得不寻找有创意的方法来过日子。

一下子,到食杂店买东西要等更长时间,还有接触到病毒的风险。日程从排得满满变为完全空空。家人开始在家中共度时光。消费者开始学习更多他们原本不会考虑自己做的事情。他们买来更多有益身心健康的产品,继续推进了本已增长的网购习惯和行为趋势。他们也更加在意所购的产品,期望省钱并减少浪费。这种心态转变会如何继续影响经济和消费者的偏好?

1. 消费者支持DIY和筑巢行为

由于在家的时间要比平时多,因此消费者在从网上教育、家居装饰到庭园打理和自制保健品等一切事务都支持DIY方法。消费者在不同的情况下可能会选择自己做事的途径,包括希望避免进入商店等公共场所,以及因当面活动被取消而有了更多时间在手。

既然家已成了办公室、学校和生活区,许多人正投入时间和金钱来优化自己的生活空间。由于出现了这种筑巢倾向,即使整体经济状况不振,与2019年相比,家居装修店2020年开局良好。家居改造平台Houzz报称,6月的项目管线需求增长了58%,其中户外空间的需求最大。

2. 消费者更为自如地使用数字渠道

随着人们转向从网上购买更多食杂、家居用品和服装,网购和便利型购物增加。尽管消费者更加关注其日常用品的支出,他们仍愿意为送货服务和其他非接触购物选项的便利和安全付费。

即使在疫情结束后,这些趋势中有许多仍会持续。例如,据麦肯锡公司称,由于老一代人被迫習慣使用数字渠道,中国新的网上市场份额的3-6%会“粘牢”或很可能保持不变。在美国,这些数字频道的新用户中,有75%的用户表示,即使生活回归“正常”,他们也打算继续使用这些渠道。

考虑配送服务和电子商务这样的行业。虽然这些行业在疫情爆发前日益流行,但随着消费者转向更多不接触人的解决方案,这些服务已飞起来了。例如,有许多消费者在此期间开始要求快递食品食杂,他们将来返回传统的食杂实体店的机会也可能比较少。另一个例子则是金融服务,网上和手机银行的使用也因转向数字化而有所增加。

3. 公司正在创新以满足快速变化的需求

在当前情势下,老公司正像新公司那样思索创新,以响应消费者的需求。例如,在疫情爆发时,许多消费者急切地购买清洁和卫生用品,同时却不下餐馆。为应对这类不断变化的习惯,西雅图的一家酿酒厂和餐厅改造了其酿酒设施,在疫情期间生产自有品牌的搓手消毒液,以保持不衰退。

但是,其他创意思想家正在解决COVID-19带来的明显问题。一个名为Medlynk的团队赢得了麻省理工大学(MIT)赞助的COVID-19挑战,其创建了一个模型来追踪医疗用品的烧穿率以及向最需要医疗用品的医院交付用品的情况。像这样的致胜创意,现在是非常相关和有用,但将来也会有市场,给经济带来了反弹所需的推动力。

现在是创业者大显身手的时机

对于企业家而言,消费行为的这些变化带来了许多机会。在经济发展不确定的时期,企业必须奋力展示其内在的坚毅。这正是滋养创新的好时机。他们被迫想出解决老问题的创新方案,并要展示出他们的灵活性,而这些素质正是企业家精神的回报。就像可编程的数字计算机和万能胶在二战期间因必要而创造出来那样,发明者的决心和创造性解决问题的能力令产品如此成功。

因为消费者改变了思维和购买方式,让企业家有机会与他们建立联系。开发新业务就是让消费者感到舒适,并能灵活应对日益变化的消费者行为和需求。产品或服务如何为倾向DIY的消费者提供支持? 是否有尚未考虑的身心健康角度?

随着消费者更多网购并调整适应新“正常”,正在上升的这些消费趋势,像DIY和筑巢心态、更舒服地使用数字平台,以及需要创新解决方案的日益演进的需求——将继续重塑经济。

本文不构成法律、会计或其他专业建议。本文所含资讯力求准确,但国泰银行不对任何因依赖这份资讯所致之损失或损害负责。

Share This Article:

分享此文章
Social share image

Skip to main content

Insights by Cathay

3 emerging consumer trends to watch for

The coronavirus pandemic is changing a lot about the world. Without the ability to enjoy the lifestyle to which they were accustomed, people have been forced to find creative ways to go about their day-to-day lives.

Suddenly, a trip to the grocery store meant longer wait times and the risk of exposure. Schedules went from jam-packed to completely open. Families started spending all their time together at home. Consumers started to learn more do-it-yourself tasks they would not have otherwise. They bought more health and wellness products, continuing an already growing trend in online consumer shopping habits and behavior. They also became more conscious of what they were buying, looking to save money and cut back on waste. Here is how this shift in mindset continues to shape the economy and consumer preferences: 

1. Consumers are embracing DIY and nesting behaviors.

With more time spent at home than usual, consumers are embracing a DIY approach in everything from online education and home decor to patio gardens and homemade wellness products. Consumers might choose to take the DIY route for many reasons, including hesitancy to venture into public places like stores and having more time on their hands with many in-person events canceled.

Now that the home serves as office, school, and living quarters, many people are investing time and money into optimizing their living spaces. Thanks to this nesting tendency, home improvement stores had an excellent start to 2020 compared with 2019, despite the economy on the whole constricting. One home remodeling platform, Houzz, reported a 58% increase in project leads in June, with the most requests for outdoor spaces.

2. Consumers are more comfortable with digital channels.

Online and convenience buying increased as people switched to ordering more groceries, household products, and clothing online. Even though consumers became more mindful about their spending on day-to-day products, they were still willing to pay for the convenience and safety of delivery services and other contactless shopping options.

Many of these trends will stick around even after the pandemic has passed. For example, according to McKinsey & Co., 3-6% of China’s new online market share is “sticky,” or likely to remain unchanged, due to older generations who were forced to become more comfortable with digital channels. And among new users of these digital channels in the U.S., 75% said they plan to continue using them even after a return to the next “normal.”

Consider industries like delivery services and e-commerce. Although these industries were growing popular before the pandemic, these services have taken off as consumers moved to more contactless solutions. Many consumers who started getting their groceries delivered during this time, for example, might be less likely to return to the in-person conventional grocery shopping in the future. Another example is financial services, where online and mobile banking use has also increased due to the shift to digital.

3. Companies are innovating to meet rapidly changing demands.

In the current state of things, existing companies are thinking just as creatively as new ones in response to consumer needs. For example, at the onset of the pandemic, many consumers rushed to buy cleaning and sanitary supplies — and meanwhile were skipping out on eating at restaurants. In response to the changing habits, one Seattle distillery and restaurant transformed its distillery facility to produce private-label hand sanitizer during the pandemic to stay afloat.

But other creative thinkers are solving problems made apparent by COVID-19. One team, Medlynk, won an MIT-sponsored COVID-19 challenge by creating a model to track the burn-through rate and delivery of medical supplies to most-in-need hospitals. Winning ideas like this — which are extremely relevant and helpful now but also have a market in the future — gives the economy the boost it needs to bounce back.

 

The time is now for entrepreneurs

For entrepreneurs, these changes in customer behavior present a number of opportunities. There is no better breeding ground for innovation than in times of economic uncertainty when businesses have to fight to show their inherent grit. They are forced to think of creative solutions to old problems and demonstrate their resilience — qualities that the world of entrepreneurship may reward. Just as programmable digital computers and superglue were both created out of necessity during World War II, the inventor’s determination and creative problem-solving ability is what made the products so successful.

As consumers shift the ways they think and buy, entrepreneurs have the opportunity to connect with them. Building a new business is about making the customer comfortable and having the flexibility to respond to changing consumer behavior and needs. How can a product or service support a DIY-inclined consumer? Is there a health and wellness angle that hasn’t been considered?

These rising consumer trends — a DIY and nesting mentality, a higher level of comfort with digital platforms, and evolving demands requiring innovative solutions — will continue to shape the economy as consumers spend more online and adjust to our new “normal.”

This article does not constitute legal, accounting or other professional advice. Although the information contained herein is intended to be accurate, Cathay Bank does not assume liability for loss or damage due to reliance on such information.

Share This Article:

Share
Social share image