跳转到主要内容

远瞻

如何与您的孩子谈论金钱

每个人都希望自己的孩子长大后能经济独立。但是,家长应该什么时候开始与孩子谈论金钱呢?

开始学习财务课程的时间越早越好。当您的儿子或女儿要求购买新玩具或新设备时,那是谈论一美元价值的好时机。与孩子进行此类对话似乎很容易,但研究表明并非如此:百分之四十七的父母表示,他们经常错过与孩子谈论金钱的机会。

父母花了很多的时间向孩子传授道德价值观(善良、尊重、耐心等),而他们往往忽略了来之不易的财务知识。我们有多少人希望我们于成长中能从父母身上学到关于金钱的更多知识? 基于年龄增长和经验积累的财务智慧非常宝贵。

 

培养储蓄为先的习惯

谈论储蓄的重要性是一个很好的开始。在年轻时养成这个习惯,成年后在财务方面会更灵活。关于储蓄如何以利息收入的形式增长的课程将是了不起的第一步。一旦您的孩子开始挣钱——不管是在他们小的时候通过零用钱还是在高中时通过兼职工作挣钱——鼓励他们尽可能多点存钱。储蓄 10% 的习惯是一个不错的开始,但若高达 30% 就更好了。如果他们达到了约定的门槛,您就可以通过出资或匹配他们的资金来促进储蓄。

在这个对话过程中,确认积极储蓄对您的重要性和益处。现实生活中的轶事和成就很有影响力。也许存钱帮您支付了大学学费,或者让您比同龄人更早地买房。您可以解释如何将一部分储蓄用于家人每年夏季休假,或者回忆这个安全保障措施曾如何帮助您度过难关。这些真实的故事和背景将会帮助放大储蓄的价值。

 

讨论预算

一旦讲授并理解了储蓄的优点,接下来最好讨论预算。在不必要的购买和无远见的计划的重压下,许多家庭的财务状况已经崩溃了。当您教您的孩子用列项目的方式编写预算时,它能帮助他们清楚地看到他们的钱花在哪里,他们应该优先考虑什么。当您的孩子长大成人且开始他们的职业生涯时,这将是一门很好的课程。量入为出——不要多花——会减少经济压力,带来更多的乐趣。

坦诚地与您的孩子讨论您的预算,并解释这样编制预算的原因,进一步让他们帮忙在预算范围内购物。这是一个用来区分需求和想要之间差的好方法。做好准备工作(例如优惠券剪辑、购买普通品牌,网上比较购物)也能导致在收银台出现巨大的价格差异。

您与孩子进行关于金钱的讨论将帮助他们建立牢固的财务基础。这是一份终身受益的礼物。对有关资金的所有事情(资金困难、债务危机、过度消费的陶醉、慈善捐赠的好处等等)都要开诚布公,树立一个好榜样,并按照您自己的建议来教导。制定预算并遵循它。下决心存超过您需要的钱。切勿因购买不必要的东西而超支。成为孩子的财务偶像。

通过对话向您的孩子传授有关金钱的知识,现在就可以开始了。

本文不构成法律、会计或其他专业建议。本文所含资讯力求准确,但国泰银行不对任何因依赖这份资讯所致之损失或损害负责。

Share This Article:

分享此文章
Social share image

Skip to main content

Insights by Cathay

How to talk to your children about money

Everyone wants their children to grow up to be financially independent. But when should you begin talking to your children about money?

The time to start learning financial lessons is the earlier, the better. When your son or daughter asks for a new toy or device, it is a great time to talk about the value of a dollar. It might seem easy to have these types of conversations with children, but research suggests otherwise: Forty-seven percent of parents report they often miss opportunities to talk about money with their children.

Parents devote so much time teaching their children about moral values (being kind, showing respect, practicing patience, etc.), they often neglect to pass on hard-earned knowledge about finances. How many of us wish we had learned more about money from our parents growing up? The financial wisdom that comes with age and experience is invaluable.

 

Promote the habit of saving first

A great place to start is to talk about the importance of saving. Developing the habit early in life will lead to more financial flexibility once adulthood arrives. A lesson about how savings can grow in the form of interest earned would be a tremendous first step. Once your children start earning money — either from an allowance in their younger years or through a part-time job in high school — encourage them to save as much as possible. A saving habit of ten percent is a good starting figure, but up to 30% is even better. You can promote savings by contributing to or matching their funds if they reach agreed-upon thresholds.

Along the way, have conversations that affirm why saving aggressively has been important and beneficial to you. Real-life anecdotes and accomplishments are powerful. Perhaps saving money helped you pay for college or allowed you to purchase a home earlier in life than most of your peers. You can explain how a percentage of savings gets allocated toward the annual family summer vacation or remember a time when having a safety net helped you through a tough time. Those real-life stories and context will help magnify the value of saving as much as possible.

 

Discuss budgeting

Once the virtue of saving is taught and understood, it is wise to discuss budgeting. Many household finances have collapsed under the weight of unnecessary purchases and shortsighted planning. When you teach your children to write a budget with line items, it helps them see exactly where their money is going and what their priorities should be. This will be a wonderful lesson when your children become adults and start their professional careers. Spending what you earn — and no more — leads to less financial stress and more enjoyment.

Be open with your children about your budget and explain why it is constructed the way it is. To take it a step further, have them help out with shopping on a budget. This is a great way to break down the difference between needs and wants, not to mention how preparation (e.g. coupon clipping, buying generic brands, online comparison shopping) can result in big price differences at the checkout register.

The discussions you have with your children about money will help set a strong financial foundation for them, which is a gift that lasts a lifetime. Set a good example by being open and honest about all things money — the difficulties, the dangers of debt, the intoxicating indulgence of overspending, the benefits of charitable giving, etc. — and teach by following your own advice. Set a budget and follow it. Aspire to save more than you need. Do not overspend on inessential items. Be the financial role model they can aspire to become.

Teaching your children about money starts with a conversation, and the time to have it is probably now.

This article does not constitute legal, accounting or other professional advice. Although the information contained herein is intended to be accurate, Cathay Bank does not assume liability for loss or damage due to reliance on such information.

Share This Article:

Share
Social share image