跳转到主要内容

远瞻

如何提高您的信用评分

大多数美国人不够重视自己的信用评分。然而无论是申请汽车、学生或房屋贷款、公寓租赁,或需要处理现金的工作,良好的信用评分都至关重要。但当您需要提供良好信用评分时,可能为时已晚,不能补救分数了。结果可能导致贷款或信用卡利息偏高、或租赁公寓或工作机会泡汤。

信用评分介于300到850之间,是放款者评估申请者风险状况的参考指标。 FICO信用评分越高越好。 2019年的NerdWallet数据指出,消费者的 FICO 平均信用评分为704左右,虽然落在「良好」这个范围的后段班,但仍然比过去高。

想要提高信用评分,第一步就是先了解信用评分的组成。

 

信用評分的組成

信用评分取决于好几个要素,但每个要素对最终分数的影响并不完全相同。

Pie chart showing the key factors that determine one's credit score, provided by Operation HOPE.

 

有否在缴费限期前付清帐单(即付款纪录)对信用评分影响最大,占35%。

总信用额度利用情况(信用卡或个人信用额度等循环帐户)占 30%。理想的情况是,信用额度利用率低于总信用额度的 30%。比如您总的信用额度是1,000元,如果想改善信用评分,那实际使用的额度不应超过300元。

组成信用评分的最后三个要素为信用历史记录时间(15%)、帐户多样性(10%)及新的信用 (10%)。放款者更偏好以时间较长的信用账户为参考,因为这类帐户能证明良好的信用记录。同时,他们也乐于见到各式各样的信用类型,因为这代表消费者能同时灵活管理多种帐户。至于新的信用,每逢有人查询您的信用报告,都会留下记录。偶尔查询并不会对信用评分造成太大影响,但查询太多次则会影响您的信用。

信用机构会将这些信用行为和背景纳入考量,然后根据您的信用记录作出FICO评分。由于信用评分至关重要,评分较低的人应正视问题。负面信用评分会导致各种后果,包括贷款遭拒、利率偏高及失去若干工作类型的资格。

您在为信用评分未达预期而担忧吗?您可以通过以下方式逐渐改善并保护您的信用评分:

1. 检查您的信用报告

您有权每年收到来自Equifax、Experian和TransUnion的免费信用报告。您也可以透过AnnualCreditReport.com获取线上信用报告。在检查报告时,您需要确认所有资讯正确无误,包括帐号、信用额度和余额。如果您发现不符之处,可以向信用机构提出质疑。提出质疑可助您迅速修正错处,也不会对评分造成不利影响。

2. 按时缴纳帐单

信用评分不良的其中一个主因,是在没有与债权人商量新的还款协议的情况下,自行不还款或仅偿还部份欠款。如果您常常在缴付帐单前就没有钱,不妨成立家用预算来追踪支出。您也可以在缴费限期前,将缴费排入行事历应用程式。您的目标是逐步还清欠款。七年后,信用评分就会略过漏缴和迟缴款项的记录。

3. 将信用卡已使用额度维持在低于额度的 30%

您是否刷爆信用卡了?这种作法等同于为了享受更大的财务自由而损害信用,并且延长了修复信用评分的时间。请坚持按时偿还信用卡债务。当卡债降到额度的30%以下时,信用评分就会上升。当放款者查看您的可用信用额度时,他们乐于见到低使用率。日后刷卡前请三思,除非您每个月都付清或几乎付清余额。

4. 让卡龄最长的信用卡保持可用状态

您或许忍不住会想关闭所有信用帐户,但尽可能让卡龄最长的帐户保持可用状态。它可以帮您增长信贷年龄,进而提高放款者对您的信任。您还可以申请成为别人的附卡使用者,利用别人较长的卡龄,小幅度提高信用评分。在同意成为附属卡使用者前,请先了解对方信用是否良好。

建立好的信用需要花很长的时间,但补救不良评分并不是那么困难。持之以恒,循序渐进。只要金钱管理得宜,就能扭转放款者给您的评价。

 

相关链接:

Operation HOPE是独立的第三方,与国泰银行和国泰万通金控公司无关。

本文不构成法律、会计或其他专业建议。本文所含资讯力求准确,但国泰银行不对任何因依赖这份资讯所致之损失或损害负责。

Share This Article:

分享此文章

Skip to main content

Insights by Cathay

How to fix your personal credit score

Most Americans don’t think about their credit scores enough. Having a good credit score is important when you apply for an auto, student, or home loan; apply to rent an apartment; or apply for a cash-handling job. By the time you realize you need a boost, you might not have enough time to fix your credit score, which might result in a higher interest rate on a loan or credit card account or being declined for an apartment or job.

Lenders rely on credit scores — which range from 300 to 850 — to gauge an applicant’s risk profile. Accordingly, they want to see FICO credit scores as high as possible. NerdWallet data from 2019 shows that the average consumer’s FICO credit score hovers around 704, which is at the lower end of “good” territory but still higher than it had been in the past.

The first step toward boosting a credit score is understanding what makes up your credit score in the first place.

 

What makes up your credit score

Credit scores are determined based on several key factors, yet not all factors contribute equally to the final number.

Pie chart showing the key factors that determine one's credit score, provided by Operation HOPE.

 

Payment history makes up 35% of your credit score. This means that paying bills on time or before their due dates can have the biggest impact on moving the needle.

Total debt utilization — the outstanding balances on revolving accounts such as credit cards or personal lines of credit — makes up 30% of your credit score. Ideally, total debt utilization should be 30% or less of the credit limit. As an example, people with a $1,000 credit card limit should keep a balance of no more than $300 as they try to improve their credit score.

The last three elements that make up your credit score are length of credit history (15%), account diversity (10%), and new credit (10%). Lenders like to see an older credit account because it shows an established record of healthy credit use. And they also want a mix of credit types to show versatility in managing multiple accounts concurrently. As for new credit, every time a credit inquiry is made, it is recorded. Occasional new credit inquiries probably will not affect a credit score too much, but multiple inquiries can cause a negative impact.

Taking all these consumer credit behaviors and backgrounds into consideration, each credit bureau will generate a FICO score on you based on your credit history. Consumers who receive low credit scores should take the rating seriously because a credit score is important. A negative credit rating can result in everything from declined loans and higher interest rates to not being eligible for certain types of employment.

Worried because your credit score is not where you want it to be? There are several ways to gradually and predictably improve and protect your credit score:

1. Review your credit report

You are legally entitled to a free credit report every year from each of the credit bureaus: Equifax, Experian, and TransUnion. You can obtain one online by visiting AnnualCreditReport.com. Examine the report to ensure all information is correct, including account numbers, credit limits, and balances. If you find a discrepancy, you can dispute it with the credit bureau. In fact, a dispute could fix credit score inaccuracies fast. Disputing will not negatively affect your credit score.

2. Pay bills on time

A primary cause of a poor credit score is not making payments or only partially paying debt without negotiating a new payment arrangement with creditors first. If you consistently run out of money before your bills are paid, create a household budget to track your spending. You might also want to schedule your bills on your calendar app in advance of their due dates. Your goal is to chip away at payments in arrears. After seven years, missed and late payment history will drop from your credit score.

3. Maintain credit card balances that are less than 30% of the limit

Have you maxed out your credit cards? You are only hurting your credit and taking longer to fix your credit score so you can enjoy more financial freedom. Begin to pay down your revolving credit card debt consistently. As you dip below 30% of the limit, your credit score should rise. Lenders like to see a low ratio of use when it comes to available credit. In the future, think twice before using credit cards unless you pay off all or most of the balance monthly.

4. Keep your oldest credit card open

You might be tempted to close all of your credit accounts, but try to keep the oldest open. You will establish the length of your credit history, which improves your credibility with lenders. You might even want to become an authorized user on someone else’s older credit card account to get a bit of a credit score rise. Just make sure the other person has good credit before you agree to be an authorized user.

Achieving an excellent credit rating takes time. But fixing negative credit scores is not hard. Be patient and stay the course. With proper money management, you can change the way lenders see you.

 

Related links:

Operation HOPE is an independent third party unrelated to Cathay Bank and Cathay General Bancorp.

This article does not constitute legal, accounting or other professional advice. Although the information contained herein is intended to be accurate, Cathay Bank does not assume liability for loss or damage due to reliance on such information.

Share This Article:

Share